January 12 – comfort food

Soup.  The word itself conjours up comfort.  I can remember when my mom would make homemade chicken soup with dumplings.  It was one of my favorite things to eat.

Whenever someone in our house is getting sick, I make chicken stock.  Sometimes I use the whole chicken, sometimes just the carcass.  This week, I used bone in chicken breast.  I took my recipe from my favorite healthy food website, www.nourishingmeals.com and made the Healing Chicken Ginger Soup.

While it was a little *hot* for our taste sensitive daughter, Joe and I absolutely loved this soup.  What I did to make it palatabe for Ava, was easy.  I simply strained the broth away from the meat and vegetabes.  I served her portion over thin thai rice noodles and thinly sliced napa cabbage, with a dollop of coconut cream.

Stock, or broth, is so easy to make, incredibly delicious, and more nutritious than any store bought broth availabe on the market.  And, if you don’t believe in the healing power of foods, you can’t deny the comfort of a homemade bowl of chicken soup.  It makes me feel better just thinking about it.

What is your favorite go to when you’re feeling a sick coming on?

Leave a Reply

